Frequently Asked Questions for the Order Microservice
Q) What are the available statuses for an order?
- SUBMITTED: Orders that are successfully placed will be displayed with a SUBMITTED status.
- READY TO EDIT: Orders that are just placed will have a READY TO EDIT status. You can cancel the order from this status.
- FREEZE EDIT: Orders that are placed and cannot be edited anymore will be displayed with a FREEZE EDIT status.
- READY TO SHIP: The orders that are ready to be shipped will be displayed with a READY TO SHIP status.
- SUBMITTED TO FULFILLMENT: Orders that are submitted to fulfillment will be displayed with the status SUBMITTED TO FULFILLMENT.
- UNABLE TO SHIP: Order Items that are not available to be shipped will be displayed with the status UNABLE TO SHIP.
- SHIPPED: Order Items that are shipped will be displayed with the status SHIPPED.
- UNABLE TO DELIVER: Order Items that are not available to be delivered will be displayed with the status UNABLE TO DELIVER.
- DELIVERED: Order Items that are delivered will be displayed with the status DELIVERED.
- RETURN SUBMITTED: Order Items that are submitted for return will be displayed with the status RETURN SUBMITTED.
- RETURNED: Order Items that are returned will be displayed with the status RETURNED.
- CANCELED: Orders that are canceled for any reason will be displayed with a CANCELED status.
Q) Can I customize Order statuses to suit specific needs for my business?
Yes. Infosys Equinox’s Order microservice uses a BPM workflow engine that allows businesses to customize its order workflow and setup custom statuses based on specific rules that can be set up in the engine.
Q) What happens to the orders when a customer chooses to delete their account from my account section?
The orders are not deleted from Infosys Equinox.
When a customer chooses to delete his account (GDPR compliance), the customer record is marked as “soft delete” and the customer will not be able to login to the site from thereon. There is a retention period (defaulted to 30 days – this is a configurable property defined at Storefront Orchestration) post which the customer record will be physically deleted based on the logic explained below:
There is a daily feed that is triggered and this feed checks for records to be deleted. It will validate for the return window time frame, etc. and then if everything is valid, the user data in the orders and any other entity such as payments, etc. will be anonymized and finally the customer record will be physically deleted from the application. If the customer tries to register with the same email ID again (in future), there will be a new customer record created and the customer cannot access any of the previous orders.
2019-02-20 | JP – Added contents
2019-06-10 | PLK – Minor copyedits.
2019-01-23 | PLK – Page added and content uploaded.